A bouquet of thoughts swirls around in my head. I’m taking a break from my Geology homework to come to the page.

I feel like I’ve had a few synchronistic moments that have led me back on a path. It’s funny how sometimes, when we knew something was available to us when we were looking for something else entirely, we forget it when we’re not looking for what we need. In this case, I’m referring simply to pursuing other online community college options to complete classes that were not offered locally or that were only offered during certain terms.

This nudge came in the form of a person who had just completed taking several accounting courses online through various community colleges. His goal is to obtain his CPA, while my goal is simply to re-take a college accounting 1 course to refresh the foundation material and take it from there. The good news is the college is on the quarter system. I wasn’t planning on taking two courses this term. I’m looking forward to the class. It begins on Monday. I’ve already received the group email from the instructor and I love his attitude. He seems upbeat, organized, encouraging. I’m also looking forward to brushing up on the material and getting a good grip on the fundamentals.

Yesterday while I was growing through the spiritual section in Barnes & Noble, I came across a book called, Angel Words by Doreen Virtue and Grant Virtue. I flipped through the small book and saw images of sound clips comparing positive and negative words. I felt inspired. It also brought me to Friday at work. In short, as my promoted co-worker, now boss, said to me when I was going into worry mode, “You usually see the glass half-full. Why aren’t you seeing it now!?” I think I paused and maybe I said that I just wanted to make sure it wasn’t too much of a crunch. We moved on to review the work we had left to do before our final deadline on October 15. I looked up from my page and said, “Ok, how about this, in the interest of a glass-half full, I think we can get three out the door next week. How’s that?”

“There, that’s better, he said. I think we can do that.”

A sigh of relief.

So when I saw the Angel Words book, it resonated with me and made me want to focus on the positive and to see the positive all the way through in as many areas of my life as possible. I feel so much better when I’m upbeat and optimistic, and besides my tendency to worry, I am pretty much an upbeat person.

I didn’t buy the book, but I did take something from it. It’s always nice to have reminders to set us back on the right track.

*The title of this journal came from a typo: going for growing. Not sure why I didn’t say browsing. I thought it was fitting to keep it as is…

