Saturday I went to the annual library book giveaway. It goes on for about a week. It was held outside. The sun beat down upon rows and rows of boxes filled with books from the library’s collection. In some ways it’s sad to see all those books that have been removed from the shelves with WITHDRAWN stamped onto their inner title pages. I imagine these are extra copies that the library no longer needs. The slight sadness I felt was replaced with solace, knowing that these books would find new homes on the shelves of many book lovers, both young and old and every age in between.

This morning, Sunday, my mind got mixed up. I woke up thinking it was Monday. I went through my routine but knew that I had to be at work just a little bit earlier than usual, so I had to adjust my routine. Time caught up with me as I went into rush mode. I noticed that hubby was still in bed, which was unusual since he is usually getting ready before me. I went in and asked him, “aren’t you going to work today? It’s getting late.” He groggily looked at me and said, “It’s Sunday.” I felt both silly and relieved. I started giggling and talking to him and he shushed me because he wanted to go back to bed. Since I had energy, I couldn’t settle back into a sitting routine and was ready to go out, so I took a long walk.

In the afternoon, when I came back from my walk, hubby and I went to get some caffeine in our systems, then went browsing through several antique stores. For some time, I’ve wanted to find a reasonably priced paper cigar box. It was at the last antique store we visited that I found one! It’s pictured here. I haven’t seen this particular brand before. I knew I had to have it, and it was the right price.

Later that evening we went grocery shopping together. On the way back I must have been thinking of too many things–I was definitely not in the moment because when hubby made a comment to me about a car we had just seen being towed, I responded with two separte thoughts smashed together. He questioned me about what I had just said and I asked him to repeat what I had said. When he told me, I tried to backtrack what I was just thinking about. It was odd. I don’t think I’ve ever done that before. I’ll have to pay attention. Hopefully this doesn’t become a new pattern.

It was a nice weekend, both relaxing and energizing.

I also spent a bit of time in the library studying. I took a peek at the new books they had and found one that I checked out: Words Onscreen: The Fate of Reading in a Digital World by Naomi S. Baron. I don’t know that I’ll have to time to read it cover to cover, but I’m hoping I make the time to read a good deal of its pages.

The retired library books that will now find a new home in my shelves (in no particular order):

-Characters on the Loose
-The Dream Life of Sukhanov
-Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits
-Benny & Shrimp
-Surviving a Writer’s Life
-Creek Walk and Other Stories
-Beyond Red and Blue: How Twelve Political Philosophies Shape American Debates
-The 100 Best Worldwide Vacations to Enrich Your Life
-The Man in the Picture: A Ghost Story
-Salones y Comedores: Practicos e imaginativos proyectos para decorar la casa

-20 Minute Menus
-La Cuentista: Traditional Tales in Spanish and English
-Art and Society

