For my lunch break I went to the library where I knew there were several books waiting for me on the hold shelf. Many arrived all at once–a total of nine books. After checking them out, I walked carefully out of the library, steadying the books as I walked so none would fall from my arms.

I entered the Mediterranean restaurant, books in hand, where I craved a bowl of their chicken lemon soup and an iced tea. “Anywhere you’d like,” the gentlemen behind the bar said. I chose a table for two near a window facing the circular bar and dining area. Instead of placing the stack of books on the table, I sat down and held them in my lap. The same gentlemen came over and asked if I’d like anything to drink to start with and if I’d also like a to-go bag for my books to make it easier for me. I paused, then thanked him and said that, yes, that would be great. He returned with a large paper bag with handles followed by my iced tea and water. I thanked him again as I took the bag and tenderly placed the books into the bag.

One book stayed with me, so that I could look through it and begin reading it. Unpacking My Library: Writers and Their Books edited by Leah Price. A gem of a book loaded with photos from just over a dozen writers, their bookshelves, and the covers of their 10 favorite books, accompanied by a brief interview for each. I love looking through people’s bookshelves and knowing and hearing what others are reading. If I’m anywhere and I see someone reading a book, I try to peek at what book they have between their hands.

I relaxed into my small cocoon of space–always finding peace between the pages, between the words. And this book and the moment had placed a smile on my face that I could feel inside my soul as I was both in my cocoon and aware of the chatter filled restaurant, Mediterranean music–accordions streaming through the speakers, plates clinking, voices vibrating.

A smile was fixed on my face and carried through the day.

**

Most of the books on the hold shelf were food related, specifically for the slow cooker. We recently purchased a slow cooker–our first ever. I have only used it twice, so many of the holds waiting for me were cookbooks for slow cooking. I needed inspiration!

The Mexican, Mediterranean, and Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker

Slow Cooking: 100 Recipes for the Slow Cooker, the Oven, and the Stove Top

I also needed inspiration for lunch ideas: Beating the Lunch Box Blues by J.M. Hirsch

Two books I found while taking a quick browse at the library shelves where they put out new and themed books:

Cirque Du Soleil – The Spark: Igniting the Creative Fire that Lives within us all Created by Lyn Heward and Written by John U. Bacon

Every Idea is a Good Idea: Be Creative anytime, anywhere: How Songwriters and other Working Artists Get it Done by Tom Sturges

