I feel like I’ve been suckered; and the worst of it is, I’ve been suckered by my own self.

My eyes have been bothering me, especially when I’m reading on the computer screen. I made an appointment with the eye doctor. It’s been almost three years since my last appointment. I figured my eyes had gotten slightly worse, so I anticipated having to buy a new pair of glasses.

Choosing a new pair of glasses is exhausting. There are so many styles to choose from. I like my old glasses but thought maybe it was time for a change, something fun and different from the old frame. The woman who was helping me, chose some cute options, but then I noticed she kept bringing me glasses with flashy handles–too complicated for me. I tried on a few that were almost identical to the current frame. Then I tried a few options just to see what they would look like, knowing they wouldn’t suit me. I tried on a black pair wasn’t perfectly round or square, sort of a little bit of both. The woman really liked these. She said that most people that have tried them on didn’t look right in them. They were cute in a non-cute way. I had already tried on so many glasses and this pair qualified as different from my old pair. Sold.

Next I needed a pair of computer glasses. When I had the eye examination, that’s what the doctor said. My other choice was a bifocal or transition lens. I said No. That wouldn’t work for me, I’ll need a separate pair of glasses. It seems ridiculous to need a whole separate pair of glasses for reading on the computer! But, that’s why I was feeling the strain. I don’t need all the strength of my everyday glasses.

Since I had collected several frames in the little plastic box they provided while I searched, I didn’t need go start from scratch. I looked in the box and chose the frame for my second pair of glasses.

I wear prescription sunglasses too and wasn’t about to buy a new frame. So my existing sun glasses get fitted with new lenses.

I feel like the excitement of getting a new pair of glasses, left my reasoning ability at the door. I could have made different choices and saved money, but I got caught up in the process. I had my credit card ready. I could have taken advantage of a better deal, but no, I was caught up in the idea of these new glasses and how it was a change and they were cute in a different way. I didn’t want similar if I couldn’t have the same.

If only I could have seen as clearly as I did when I saw those great pine trees and the moon that same morning. If only I could have had my practical, thrifty mind with me. Now, I’ll only see dollar signs and unnecessary indulgence.

20140123-085211.jpg

